Friday , August 7 2020


Ghana’s Thomas Partey, Jordan Ayew, and Elizabeth Addo have fallen out of contention for individual honors at the 2019 Caf Awards Gala.

As Caf announced a shortlist of players in contention for awards, Black Stars duo Partey and Ayew failed to make the final 10-man shortlist for the African Footballer of the Year award, while Black Queen’s attacker Addo dropped out of the now five-person roster for the African Women’s Footballer of the Year gong.

The last Ghanaians to win the Caf Men and Women’s Footballer of the Year awards were Abedi Ayew Pele and Grace Adjoa Bayor, in 1992 and 2003, respectively.

Atletico Madrid midfielder Partey and Crystal Palace striker Ayew were among 30 players announced for the men’s African Player of the Year, which also includes reigning winner Mohamed Salah of Egypt and Liverpool, Senegal and Liverpool attacker Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Arsenal and Riyad Mahrez of Manchester City, who led Algeria to win the Africa Cup of Nations in July.

China-based Addo, on the other hand, was among 10 ladies shortlisted for the Women’s Player of the Year. Reigning winner Thembi Kgatlana of South Africa, three-time winner Asisat Oshoala and Ajara Nchout of Cameroon are among the front-runners.

Both lists are expected to be whittled down further before the awards gala slated for Egyptian capital Cairo on January 7.

Story by:Pearl Abaidoo-Abbam

About Abraham Karikari

Check Also

Another Banger: Sarkodie And Darkovibes (Video)

Another Banger Sarkodie And Darkovibes Get Busy In The “Lab” As They Prepare Another Banger …

Keche And Kuami Eugene Release Preview Of Their Expensive Video

Keche And Kuami Eugene Release Preview Of Their Expensive Video Financed By Keche’s Millionaire Wife, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.